Goose Pond, Jamaica Hills

To the west of affluent Jamaica Estates is the slightly more affordable neighborhood of Jamaica Hills, which also sits atop the terminal moraine of the most recent ice age glacier. The southern limit of the moraine is marked by Hillside Avenue. On the north side of this road is a knob and kettle terrain while the southern side has a landscape that gently slopes down towards the ocean.

tilly 1

The only remaining kettle pond in Jamaica Hills is located inside Captain Tilly Park, a nine-acre site perched on a slope beneath the former Jamaica High School. In the center of Goose Pond is a bird sanctuary isle that is the smallest island within the smallest natural body of water in the city.

Goose Pond 2

The land around the park belonged to its namesake family in the 19th century and later to the Highland Park Society, an organization of local landowners that maintained the park. Captain George H. Tilly served in the Army Signal Group during then Spanish-American War of 1898. On May 27, 1899, Tilly and a small unit landed in the town of Escalante on Negros Island to repair a damaged telegraph cable. He was killed by Filipino rebels who felt betrayed that instead of liberating their country, the United States replaced the Spanish as colonists.

Over the decades, Goose Pond lost its natural source of water and algae bloomed in it. Much of the surrounding park had also fallen in disrepair as the city failed to maintain the park. In 1996, the Jamaica Hills Community Association and Council Member Morton Povman allocated funding for the park. The restoration included draining and deepening, installation of a new clay liner and filtration system. Carp and bluegill sunfish were reintroduced to the pond, among other native wildlife. A new well provided water for the pond and an island in its center served as a wildlife sanctuary. Each fall, the park hosts Jamaica Family Day, a fair for local residents.

Goose Pond 1

Although the pond is very shallow and surrounded by development, it offers a hint at the landscape that once covered Jamaica Hills for nearly 10,000 years. Earlier this year, the lawn to the south of the pond was reconstructed, a project that included the elimination of invasive plants and improving drainage.

captain-tilly-park-renovation-plan.jpg

15 thoughts on “Goose Pond, Jamaica Hills

  1. Eric Berman October 10, 2016 / 10:19 pm

    When I was born, the family lived near the Goose Pond. Later, when we moved out farther on Long Island, we would return to picnic and I used to sail my boats in the pond. The boat I remember most of all was a small, metal submarine which I guided with a string but which sank out of sight early in its maiden voyage.
    You didn’t happen to find it when you drained and renovated the pond, did you?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Old JHS Student September 26, 2017 / 4:39 pm

    What a different world. I went to JHS, from the very edges of its student zone in Fresh Meadows, from 1983-1987. Goose Pond Park, as it was know to the students across the street, was where the student body went to drink, smoke, get stoned and all with the constant fear of being robbed. I vaguely recall after the first shooting at the school in around 1985 or so, the perpetrator ran to the park, and reportedly threw his gun into the pond. The search for it revealed just how neglected the park had been for decades. I’m glad to hear the park is being restored, though I am sad that Jamaica High School is no more and at the same time Jamaica Hills is gentrifying. It would seem that more than the pond has been drained.

    Like

  3. DENNIS FERGUSON May 26, 2018 / 10:13 pm

    I remember in about 1940 going to Goose Pond to fish. We used a bent straight pin with a little balled up piece of bread. We caught Sunfish most of which would fall off the “hook” and the others we would through back. There were blue darning needles there too. It was a totally safe place to be. I was only about 5 years old. It’s a shame how much things have changed.

    Like

  4. Andrea Fonyo February 4, 2019 / 10:13 pm

    I used to ice skate on the pond when I was a child. Good old days!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Michael Taustine February 27, 2020 / 4:59 am

    I grew up in the area and often went to the park as a child in the 60’s. Climbed trees, played in the playground, walked onto the frozen lake in winter, played catch with my father in summer. Many fun memories.

    Like

  6. Richard Donn May 30, 2020 / 9:41 pm

    I lived next to Goose Pond from 1952 till 1966. I remember sleigh riding down onto the pond, ice skating and catching ” sunnies” and snails from the pond.. There were many frogs , not too many geese and loads of children and moms of all ages who came from the neighborhood.

    I remember the “parkies shed” where the City Parks caretakers had a refuge and I remember bicycling up and down the hisll

    THe park was friendly and safe. Over the years I have returned and have seen it deteriorate and now revived,

    It was always a haven and perhaps even more so now given all the development.

    Goose pond was where you went after school if you weren’t playing baseball on Joe’s field (now Joe Austin park thanks to Mario Cuomo who played ball there)

    Very fond memories and what a joy to behold

    Like

  7. Robert Kirschbaum July 8, 2020 / 4:52 am

    Like many of the commentators, I have fond memories of Goose Pond Park. My father taught me to fish there, using a bamboo pole, with a string, a float, a lead weight, and a hook carrying a worm I dug up from my garden. In later years, I could ride my bike from my home nearby, bamboo pole resting across my handle bars. I caught sunfish and very small perch. Later, as a Jamaica High student (I was previously a student at PS 131, close to the pond), I would occasionally take a stroll around the pond. It was a beautiful, peaceful place. I’m glad the pond has been restored and that it continues to be enjoyed by the surrounding community.

    Like

  8. Robert Stoll October 19, 2020 / 11:30 pm

    I graduated fromJamaica High in l948, Lived in Queens Village. I took the “36” bus to school…walking up from Hillside Ave, past Goose Pond and on to the school, I’m now 90 years old and I live in Santa Cruz, California. After the Korean war I had G.I; benefits and Came to the University of California at Berkeley. Love Casliforia,but will always remember JHS and Goose Pond .

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Kristin Mcenaney April 30, 2021 / 5:27 pm

    Kristin Morkaut

    Like

  10. Kristin Mcenaney April 30, 2021 / 5:31 pm

    I remember ice skating in winter, walking the dog and hanging out with friends in the park. I lived on Highland Ave and my cousin lived on Chapin Ct on opposite side of the park so we cut through on a daily basis. Great memories

    Like

  11. Maryann kern June 9, 2022 / 10:16 pm

    I went to Jamaica HS 1950-1954.goose pond is when you were a senior you got to go out for lunch.We would hang out there,Many dates that let To marriage started there.Fond memories 🥰👵🏻

    Like

    • Jean March 19, 2024 / 6:16 pm

      went to Richmond hill hs. born and raised in Jamaica back in the 1940’s when it was a very nice place. My grandfather built the house we lived in around 1910. 2 story brick home. Still standing today but looks like everything around it has been torn down. So sad. Used to go to eagle bakery for fresh hot bagels. Good memories

      Like

Leave a comment